Boston Cream Cupcakes

There is something that feels so nostalgic about a Boston Cream Pie.  It’s probably because my mom was known to pick one up for an occasional treat throughout my childhood, as it was one of my dad’s favorites. When done right, a Boston Cream Pie is the perfect combination of all my favorite parts of dessert –  yummy moist cake, creamy custard and then just the perfect hint of chocolate. Mmmmm!!!!

Then I came across this posting that originated from The Girl Who Ate Everything Blog.  Oh Boy!!!  The picture of her cake just screamed “EAT ME” and I immediately pinned it to make when I was in the mood for some nostalgic baking. That day came much quicker than I expected when I wanted to make a special thank you treat for family and friends I was visiting in Maine.

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
30
174
Full Circle Events
1
1
213
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

After reviewing the recipe, I decided to make a few adjustments to the original posting.

First, I decided to make the cake as cupcakes.  I felt this would work better for sharing and spreading the yummy love.

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
20
118
Full Circle Events
1
1
144
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

Second, I doctored the basic cake mix the recipe called for.  I like dense cupcakes as I think they compliment the frosting so much better.

Lastly, to feed my dark chocolate obsession, I decided to try a chocolate ganache for the frosting.

The results….Heavenly!!!!

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
50
288
Full Circle Events
2
1
353
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

Tips to know before preparing

  • I found it best to make the cupcakes the night before.  This gave them a chance to cool before adding the custard and ganache.
  • The cupcakes are best served at room temperature.  The day I chose to bake was very hot so I refrigerated them which caused the ganache to harden.  I found this made it difficult to eat.

The recipe makes 24 cupcakes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Grease Muffin Pan (2 pans if you have them as the recipe yields 24 cupcakes)

CAKE

1 (18-ounce) box yellow cake mix
1 (6-ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
1 cup sour cream
1 cup vegetable oil
4 large eggs, beaten
1/2 cup warm water

In a mixing bowl, use a whisk to stir together the cake mix, pudding mix, sour cream, oil, eggs and water. Scoop the batter into prepared greased muffin pans. Bake according to the cupcake time noted on the cake mix box or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool cake for 20 minutes before turning over and removing from pan. Cool on cooling rack.
Once completely cool, use a serrated knife to cut the tops off each cupcake in preparation for the custard.

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
89
510
Full Circle Events
4
1
626
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

CUSTARD FILLING

1 cup cold milk
1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding
1 cup heavy or whipping cream, chilled

Whip cream in chilled mixing bowl. Mix on medium for 2-3 minutes depending on speed, just until cream creates stiff peaks. Don’t over whip or it will form a cottage cheese consistency.  Cream should have a firm consistency.

In another bowl, beat 1 cup of milk and pudding mix with a whisk or mixer until thoroughly mixed. Gently fold in whipped cream. Let stand 5 minutes so it has time to fully thicken and settle.

Scoop 1 tablespoon custard onto bottom slice of each cupcake and replace top half.

GANACHE FROSTING

12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream

Place chocolate chips in a large bowl.  Heat heavy cream on medium heat until it comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and immediately pour cream over chocolate chips.  Stir until completely mixed and glossy.  Allow ganache to cool for 10 minutes until it has thickened.  Spread the ganache onto the prepared cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

