Fashion Love – The Maxi Skirt

One thing I love about Pinterest is the variety of fashion items you can find.  So many great ideas for staples I already have in my closet. Ways to refresh my look.

Recently, I pinned two maxi skirt outfits from the blog Life In Pittsburgh specifically for this reason – a refresh!  I love the maxi skirt trend and have recently added a few of them to my wardrobe.  I love their versatility.  They can be dressed up or down, depending on their accessories – perfect for brunch and running errands on a Sunday to an evening out in the city.

The first inspiration post is for a gray maxi skirt I got from Anthropology last winter.  I’d been wearing it with a turtleneck sweater and a favorite pair of chunky boots.  I loved the easy breeziness of the new look to help me take the skirt into the warmer months.  I had never thought to add a belt and was in love with the chambray shirt.

The second was for a beautiful raspberry pink satin maxi skirt I had recently found at The Gap on sale for $18.  SCORE!!!!  Besides the price, I was drawn to the color immediately and thought it would be a fun outfit for the vacation I was planning.  Even better – it was a medium – an exciting new size for me since a recent weight loss.

Inspired, here was my take on each outfit:

Feeling the need to add a bit of color to the gray skirt outfit, I dipped into my Stella & Dot jewelry collection and decided to add this fabulous turquoise Calliah statement necklace.  I would also think about adding a fun colored cross body bag to the look.

I love the relaxed barefoot at home look from the inspiration picture for the pink skirt but decided to add a pair of brown leather wedge sandals to the look for an evening out with friends.

Wanting to put together a look like this as well?  How would you change up this combination?

J.Crew slim fitted shirt / Temperley London long maxi skirt / Havaianas flip flops / Tory Burch cross body bag / Stella & Dot jewelry / Stella & Dot bib necklace / Stella & Dot vintage jewelry / H&M leather belt / Gucci eyewear

Splendid white tank / Vince Camuto long skirt / GUESS platform heels / Vintage handbag / Stella & Dot turquoise jewelry / Stella & Dot stackable ring / Stella & Dot pave jewelry / Stella Dot jewelry

Leave a Reply

