Hendrick’s – The Gateway Gin

When perusing a specialty drink menu, I immediately gravitate toward anything with St. Germain.  The one downfall to loving all things St. Germain has been that they are usually gin based drinks.  I am a vodka girl and gin has never been something I enjoyed.  Having my love for St. Germain overrule my aversion to gin, I have more recently found myself trying Hendrick’s Gin based drinks more often than not.  And you know what? I really like the cool cucumber taste of Hendrick’s!  Call it my gateway gin.

When recently invited to a gin loving friends dinner party, I decided a Hendrick’s signature drink was the ideal contribution.  Some quick research on Pinterest brought me to the Hendrick’s Floradora – Hendrick’s, Lime, Raspberry Syrup and Ginger Beer. 

Adding a squeeze of lime and a splash of raspberry syrup to the gin and topping it off with Ginger Beer made for a refreshing summer cocktail – a nice combination of sweet, sour and spice.  The Floradora was a drink that was light and interesting to the pallet that also appealed to both the men and women at the party. 

A great gateway cocktail for this gin newbie!

Check out some of these other Hendrick’s cocktails found on their website.

The Pink Victoria – Hendrick’s, Grapefruit Juice, Lemon Juice, Simple Syrup, Real Grenadine

Cucumber Cooler – Hendrick’s, St. Germain, Lime Juice, Simple Syrup, Soda Water, Mint Leaves

Unusual Negroni – Hendrick’s, Lillet Blanc, Aperol, Orange Twist

Leave a Reply

