Friday Field Trip – Myopia Polo

I have always wanted to go to a polo game.  Having watched Pretty Woman way too many times to count, I imagined going to a game as the perfect opportunity to wear a fabulous hat, drink champagne and maybe meet my own Prince (Harry, William…) or gorgeous Argentinean player….hello Nacho Figueras (my kind of Nachos)! 

This past weekend, I finally got my act together and organized a visit to Myopia Polo with a couple friends in honor of my birthday. Located in South Hamilton on Massachusettes’ North Shore, Myopia is the oldest active Polo Club in the US and was the perfect site for my inaugural polo experience.  It was a hot sunny day that called for a bottle of wine and some light sandwiches for pre-game tailgating.  Of course I couldn’t resist wearing a fabulous hat! 

It was a glorious afternoon and a great way to experience polo and celebrate my birthday.  At $10 a person, it was a very budget and family friendly afternoon.     

This having been my first time, I was able to get a feel of the atmosphere and can’t wait to go again.  Next time I plan to step up my tailgate game.  Here are some ideas I found for future visits.  

Fun Hats Options

Yummy polo tailgate food using the abundant fresh fruit of summer.

Apricots with Basil-Goat Cheese and Almonds

Grilled Ciabatta, Ricotta Cheese, Fresh Blueberries, Organic Honey & Mint

Peach Caprese

Blackberry Fennel Pizza

Surely, we will need some champagne to celebrate.  How about this amazing mimosa bar?

And of course a chic setting is important.  Here are some ideas I found on Pinterest.

Want to plan your own polo outing? Visit the United States Polo Association to find a club near you.

Leave a Reply

