I’m Gonna Be A Hair Model – EEEEKKK!!!!

I was recently asked by my cousin to be her hair model for the color training class she is taking today.  When asked, my immediate response was “Of course!”  I have been bugging her forever to touchup my roots and I want to support her any way I can as she works to become an amazing hair stylist.  She is talented and has a real passion for it so I couldn’t imagine saying anything but yes.

BUT…(yes there is a but)….I have to admit I am a bit nervous.  Not that she won’t do an amazing job.  It’s more that I am nervous about the people who are teaching her.  Do they have the skill set to train her correctly and guide her in a direction I will be proud to walk out the door with.

Ok, I know I sound totally high maintenance but I really am not.  Well yes, ok, I am high maintenance about some things but not usually about my hair.  I do trust hairstylists and am very open to their ideas on what will work best.  I like to hear from my stylist what they think would work best for me.  They are the expert and I trust in their knowledge.  However, I have recently gotten burned with bad color.  A recent trip to a top Boston salon for highlights by the salon owner left me with what I called calico cat hair.  

Calico Cat

 

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
107
615
Full Circle Events
5
1
755
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

It was so bad that when I arrived at another salon to have it fixed, the receptionist gasped and commented that she hadn’t believed my hair was really as bad as I had described over the phone.  She said most people over-react but it seems I was telling the truth.  So you can see why I might be a bit gun shy.

To prepare for the color session I decided to have my cousin cut my hair last week.  I figured I needed a cut and it would give her a chance to play in my hair a bit and get familiar before our session with foil and bleach.

I quickly pinned a bunch of styles I liked to a board on my pinterest so she could see what styles I liked.  It’s so great to have a bunch of looks right at my finger tips to show a stylist.  No more collecting magazine clippings and trying to remember to bring them with me.  Here are some of the looks I liked.

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
14
85
Full Circle Events
1
1
104
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Normal.dotm
0
0
1
52
301
Full Circle Events
2
1
369
12.257

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

My cousin did a great job and I am so happy with the cut.  It is one of the best cuts I have had in a long time. It has the long layers I was looking for which works well with my fine wavy hair.  Here are a few after shots. The one on the left was taken right after my salon visit and the other was from a few days later after some self styling with a round brush.

*Quick cuteness pause – how adorable is my nephew – love that face.

So, now it is time for the color.  Here are some of my inspirations.

   

LOVE Eva’s dark hair with low lights.  Perfect for fall.

 

Gorgeous!!  A bit of a subtle umbrae which I like a lot more than the dramatic umbrae looks that have been popular.

Mariska always has amazing hair.  I love the light sunkissed look framing the face.

Another great warm brown – digging the dimension the color gives Jennifer Love’s hair.

Which one is your favorite?  Do you get anxiety before a visit to the salon?  Is there a reason behind your anxiety?

Well, I’m off to get ready for my appointment.  Wish me luck!  I’ll be sure to post an after picture.

Leave a Reply

