Apple Harvest Time – A Bushel Or A Peck?

It’s that time of year when the days are warm, the evenings cool and there is an abundance of apples.  It is apple harvest season.  Time to go pick your bushel or peck and find some yummy concoctions to use up all those apples.

I got my peck last weekend when I organized a little field trip to a local orchard with my Dinner Club friends and their families.  It was a lovely day, warm and sunny, the perfect day for picking apples.  

Things have been a bit crazy here so I haven’t had a chance yet to break into my bounty but I can’t wait to come up with some yummy ways to use my apple collection.  Here are some recipes that have made my apple baking short list.

Apple & Honey Galette from The Forest Feast in honor of the Jewish New Year.

The Apple Financier Tart from the Cooking Channel looks like an amazing treat you would find in a French pastry shop.

Never able to resist a cupcake, these Caramel Apple Cupcakes from The Craving Chronicles look so yummy.

Ok, how adorable are these Apple Pies.  It’s a baked apple and pie all rolled into one.  Genius twofer from the Chronicles of a Domestic Dilettante.

I don’t really crave apple pie myself so these Baked Apple Egg Rolls from the Blog Alaska From Scratch might be more up my alley.

Gotta love a quick bread!  I like to eat them for breakfast with cream cheese and my favorite Latte. Try this Zucchini & Apple Bread from Fork, Knife, Swoon.

You don’t have to always use your apples for sweets.  Here are some savory treats to put your apples to good use.

Sage apple and cheddar scones from Buried Carrots.

Brie and Apple Tarts – A nice treat from Blog Hungary to go with a glass of red wine.

This is my new favorite frittata to make when I have friends over for brunch – Alida’s Kitchen Apple Cheddar Frittata. I have made it several times and it’s always a great hit.

Cool weather also makes me crave beef stew.  Check out this Beef Stew with Marjoram and Wild Apple from Tes at Home.

Bacon, goat cheese, apples stuffed in French toast.  Awesome!!  Thanks Home Is Where the Cookies Are.

Have you been apple picking yet?  What is your favorite apple recipe?

Leave a Reply

