3 Month CrossFit Challenge – Wish Me Luck

For the last year I have heard a lot about CrossFit.  Having a number of friends who are devoted to the workout, I have learned a lot about the trials and tribulations of burpees, pull ups, and paleo.  I have found myself getting totally pumped whenever I see this Reebok CrossFit commercial and wondering if I have these sneakers, shouldn’t I be able to do handstand pushups and have washboard abs.

Most of all I have been in awe of my friend Sarah who has been a CrossFit devotee for the past year.  How could I not be, look at her.

Ok, I have to admit, when this picture ended up on Facebook, I had a bit of a freak out.  Reason being, I was standing feet away from her in my swimsuit and t-shirt cover up when it was taken.  All I could think about was the possibility of my cellulite thighs being posted on Facebook standing next to the rock hard abs of this CrossFit Goddess.  You can feel my pain right?  Thank God I was not in the shot!

But after my knee jerk panic subsided, it got me to thinking.  Why not try CrossFit?  I need some fitness motivation and although I am not ready to get drunk off the CrossFit KoolAid, that doesn’t mean I can’t get a little buzzed.  So, I am going to try it out and what better way to hold me accountable than to blog about it.

Not planning to join a CrossFit gym, I turned to Pinterest for guidance to help set up my challenge.  I immediately remembered this website I had pinned a while back, CrossFit Mamas, and decided to use it as the basis to my challenge.  I liked the concept Jenni, the author, has taken of modifying workouts to be done at home with limited time and equipment.  She has also adjusted weight to reduce bulkiness, a complaint women often have about CrossFit.

Here’s the Plan:
– This is a 3 month challenge (9/10 – 12/10).
– It consists of doing the “Work Out Of The Day” (WOD) as posted on CrossFit Mamas a minimum of 3 times a week.  The goal is to get to 4 or 5 times a week but never less than 3.
– I will be posting a weekly status update on this blog as a way to record the challenge.

I plan to go to the gym I belong to and use their equipment.  It’s there and I already pay for it, I might as well use it right.  If I didn’t have a gym membership, I could purchase the few inexpensive equipment items Jenni suggests.

I started the challenge on Monday figuring I should at least try it once before I put it all out there into cyberland.  The WOD was –

8 rounds for max reps of:
20 pound Hang power clean, 20 seconds
Rest 10 seconds
20 pound Push press, 20 seconds
Rest 10 seconds

The first crisis of the workout was understanding the CrossFit lingo.  Hang power cleanspush press…huh???? I needed a CrossFit dictionary.  Avoiding a frantic text to my friends asking for explanations, I turned to YouTube where I found great demos that explained the moves to me.  Crisis averted.



The second crisis
 was juggling iPhone logistics.  In the past I have used my iPhone to listen to music and time my runs.  One device is awesome but doesn’t really work well with these exercises.  I quickly found I could not listen to my music, see the time (20 seconds, 10 seconds, 20 seconds, 10 seconds) and hold on to a weighted bar!  I figured out quickly something was going to get broken or I was going to get hurt and neither option was good.  Luckily it was the middle of the day and the gym yoga studio was empty, so I was able to put the phone on a bench to see the time and blast my music from the speaker with out disturbing anyone as I did my workout.  I since have picked up a stop watch to avoid this problem in the future.

The results were good minus the initial bumps in the road.  Although it was a short workout (8 minutes) it was definitely tough.  By the end I found my muscles fatigued, my heart rate was up, I broke a nice sweat and I was also sore the next day.

One thing I am having a hard time getting used to is the short amount of time the workouts take.  I felt a bit guilty for going to the gym and only working out for 8 minutes.  I ended up adding in a 20-minute jog on the tail end to round out my workout and to ease my guilt.

Overall, I am feeling good and am looking forward to my next workout.

I would love to have someone join me in this challenge.  What do you think?  Whose in?  Think you’re up for the challenge?

2 thoughts on “3 Month CrossFit Challenge – Wish Me Luck

  1. Pingback: CrossFit Challenge Update and New Playlist | Pin It

Leave a Reply

