Decorating With Globes

This summer I was at this fabulous antique store in my home town, My Sister’s Garage, and fell in love with some antique globes they had there.  They were nothing fancy, just some well loved globes that probably came from a school room someplace in Maine.  I loved the color it brought to the decor in the store and immediately thought I must have one of these.  What decor better represents my love of travel?

Since I saw these globes, I seem to keep finding more and more cool ways to use them in decor.  Looks like I’m not the only one who thinks this is a cool way to add some character to your home.

I recently saw a tour of Emily Shuman from the blog Cupcakes and Cashmere home on The Everygirl.  I loved the look and thought it was a perfect idea for my friend Rachel’s family room built ins.

How adorable is this globe being up-cycled to be used as a vase.  Great idea from Marie Claire Idees.

Don’t know the sex of your baby?  This is a wonderful unisex nursery theme from the blog Fudge Banana Swirl.

Use the shape of a globe to showcase your favorite craft medium.  This one was painted but I might turn to a little decoupage for my artistic expression.

This globe stuffed side table from Apartment Therapy might be the perfect solution to my side table dilemma in my front entrance.

Here a globe is used as an elegant untraditional centerpiece for this chic dining room from Electric Revisited by Maureen Bower.

Now this globe bar isn’t exactly my style but I am envisioning a fun up-cycle project to make it more modern and contemporary.  Painting the outside a glossy black or bright color keeping the traditional map on the inside.  This could make for a unique version of the popular bar cart that is having a resurgence right now.

Ever wonder what it would be like to stand in the middle of the world?  It’s actually pretty cool.  If you visit the Boston area, make sure you check out the Mapparium at the Mary Baker Eddy Library.  Built in 1935, the three story painted – glass globe is a fun attraction and interactive way to see how see how the world has changed since 1935.

Planning on incorporating a globe into your decor?  I would love to hear your ideas.

Leave a Reply

