Finding Boots That Fit – No Matter What Your Size

I remember getting my first pair of boots.  It was the 80’s and they were a slouchy pair of brown boots with a low heal.  These boots were a prized procession I had received for Christmas and continued to wear down till a trip to the cobbler was needed.  I have loved boots ever since and find myself gravitating toward a new stock each fall.  This fall the urge seems stronger than ever.  Maybe it is the fact that I seem to be walking through the Nordstrom shoe department multiple times a week on the way to my job at Pottery Barn Kids – note to self, find a new, less tempting parking area.

When tall boots became the standard in fall/winter fashion I was heart broken. Why you ask?  If you have a wide or narrow calf you know exactly why.  I would find these beautiful boots and sure enough they would never fit my calf.  It was always a prayer to see if the zipper would close, and if it did, chances were I would have no circulation in my leg or it would look like a stuffed sausage.  Not exactly the look I was going for.

The wonderful news is there are more resources out there for us ladies with wide or narrow calves.  Finally, we too can look cute and stylish in the fall and winter months.  Here are some cute styles from my favorite resources.

Of course I have to start off with my favorite shoe department – Nordstrom.

This extended calf Jessica Simpson Boot is a great option.  Best part is the price – $139

This BP is my favorite boot this season.  I was so excited when I found these I had to get them in both the black and brown!  And again, it is another great price – $99.

Zappos is a fantastic option for those looking for extended and narrow calf boots.  With the ability to shop with a variety of shaft sizes (from 6″ to 23+”).  I love that they have some of my favorite designer boots – boots I have loved on my thinner calf friends but in my size.

I never knew Frye carried extended calf boots till I found the extended calf Melissa boot on zappos.

Hunter boots are a wet weather must have.  I am psyched for the Huntress Hunter Boot – their extended calf version.

My friend Paris turned me onto Duo Boots when she posted a link to their site on Facebook.  Paris has a narrow calf and has suffered many of the challenges I have encountered finding boots.

This Cassini boot is a gorgeous healed boot – a staple every women should have in their closet.

I also like these Adora healed boots?  The straps add a fun detail to a basic boot.

Got a wider foot and need a bit more extended calf?  Lane Bryant is a great cost effective place to find some cute boots.

These snakeskin wedge boots are adorable.

How about these gray Buckled Slouch Boots?  They would look great with skinny jeans or a cute skirt.

Have you also had challenges finding boots?  What are some of your favorite boot shopping resources?

Leave a Reply

