It’s Black, It’s White….Ya, Ya, Ya!!!

Black pants, a white top, everyone has them in their closet, right?  It’s the easy go-to for event organizers to ask staff to wear for their events – easy, convenient and identifiable.

Me, I am not really a fan.  Don’t get me wrong, I totally get it and have certainly made this the staff uniform for events I have organized in the past.  But I have always had a hard time wearing the combo.  Maybe it’s the lack of individual personality I feel when I wear it or maybe it just reminds me to much of those days of waiting tables and bartending.  Or maybe it is just my inner rebel who always hated uniforms (must come from those early days of school uniforms).

Recently, I have worked a couple of different events where I have been asked to wear this exact combo and in both cases I have found myself dreading getting dressed for the occasion.  How can I create a combination I feel good about – professional and pulled together – while still respecting the uniform and staying within the guidelines?  I felt it was a good time to pull together some inspiration outfits to help me pull it off.  Thanks Polyvore for helping me pull together this inspiration board.

Dorothy Perkins cowl neck dress / Loose shirt, $130 / TIBI floral blouse, $435 / Peplum top, $52 / Moschino Cheap & Chic bow top, $320 / White lace top, $32 / Leather blazer / BCBG Max Azria high rise pants / Hobbs black cigarette pants, $190 / Black pleated skirt / theyskens’ theory super low rise skinny jeans / Ted Baker wool skirt / Old Navy super skinny jeans / MICHAEL Michael Kors platform pumps / Bootie boots / L.K.Bennett short heels, $300 / BCBG Max Azria black bootie / Bakers pointed shoes / Tory Burch patent leather handbag
As you can see, I couldn’t resist adding a bit of color with the TIBI floral peplum blouse and Tory Burch’s red clutch.  I was thinking I would add a white blazer to the outfit to minimize the color even more.  I know, it’s a fine line but I can’t seem to help myself!

Leave a Reply

