Holiday Crafting Party – A Stylish, Comfy and Festive Hostess

I hope you have enjoyed seeing the elements of the Holiday Crafting Party unfold this week as much as I have.  With the scene set, crafts selected, and the menu finalized – it’s time to focus on the hostess.  As usual, I have waited to the last minute to figure out what to wear for this party.  Usually I am so busy focused on making sure the house is clean, decorating, and preparing food that I am totally rushing around at the last minute trying to get in a shower and praying the guests are a bit late so I have time to throw on a little make-up and blow dry my hair so it is not dripping wet.

So this has been fun, gives me a minute to plan an outfit and decide what to wear for the party.  First, it’s got to be comfortable and casual.  It’s an at-home party where we will be crafting, so casual comfort is key.  And secondly, I want to be festive, as it is a holiday party!  We’re not talking ugly sweater festive but cute and stylish festive.

tumblr_mf02j6WTUS1raaluzo1_500

For the first outfit I knew I wanted to do something with plaid which always screams the holidays to me.  Maybe it’s because of the holiday plaid dress my Mom used to wear to our family holiday parties in the 80’s.  This J. Crew shirt is classic but still on trend with some jeans, a sweater to layer, and of course a few Stella & Dot jewelry pieces.  The thing I love the most about this outfit are the green velvet smoking slippers – how awesome are they!!!

For the second outfit, I fell in love with the snowflake cashmere sweater from Banjo & Matilda – subtly festive!  Wanting to add some color, I turned to a burgundy skinny jean and then again, a pop of color with these great jewel blue UGG moccasins – gotta love a party you can wear slippers to and still look cute.

Make sure to check back in next week to see what holiday celebration we will be planning – I’m envisioning a bit of holiday glitz and glamour.


Banjo & Matilda cashmere sweater / J.Crew long sleeve plaid shirt / Woolrich chambray blouse / Hudson Jeans / rag & bone / UGG Australia slipper shoes / Stella & Dot cocktail ring / Stella & Dot chain necklace / Stella & Dot / Stella & Dot hematite jewelry / Dorothy Perkins buckle belt / Stubbs & Wootton Velvet Slippers

Leave a Reply

