Downton Abbey Inspired – I See A Wedding Trend Coming Our Way

If you have been watching the news, the biggest story is the flu that has been crippling most American households.  Seems I am not immune and have the luck to be hit by this awful bug the past few days.  Not exactly what I had planned for this week, but what’s a girl to do?  My lack of posting yesterday was due to the fun fever I was battling.  As I could not muster the energy to bring my dog for a walk, pulling together a coherent post was just not going to happen.  Luckily today the fever is broken and although I am still pretty sick, I couldn’t wait another day to chat with you all about one of my favorite subjects – Sunday night’s premiere of Downton Abbey.
9457_10151237782968645_1702107474_n

After months of waiting, I have to say it did not disappoint.  Some of my favorite highlights were watching Maggie Smith and Shirley MacLaine go toe-to-toe, holding my breath to see if Mary and Matthew would finally be together, having Thomas finally get a taste of his own medicine, and being so proud of Cora’s attitude toward the possibility of losing Downton.  But most of all, the biggest highlight was the wedding.

As I was watching I immediately saw two trends for future brides to make part of their wedding.

The first was the amazing diamond headband/comb Lady Mary wore on her wedding day.  It was striking and a new twist on the tiara and headband trends of late.

Wedding hair

Want your own comb to add a retro look to your wedding or a night out?  Check these out….

Another scene from the wedding I just loved was the white bunting hung around the town in celebration of the wedding. They were so charming and festive and I immediately thought what a great, easy way to decorate a wedding venue.

da-556x426 hp6w

Here are some examples of how you can add these festive flags to your own celebrations.
Bunting YellowFlags_OneLove2 Bells-Tassels3 bunting - county marquee large_image wedding flagsWant to add flags or bunting to your next event?  Star Lit Nest Gifts – an Etsy shop – has a variety you can order from that match your theme.

Leave a Reply

