I Heart Valentine’s Day Party

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow!!!  Do you have plans to celebrate with your honey? A few weeks ago I invited a group of friends of mine to get together for a little I Heart Valentine’s Day party.  Our group gathered and spent a Sunday afternoon sipping some fun bubbly drinks and making homemade Valentine cards.

Our First Card

Our First Card

Pendary and Shannon

Pendary and Shannon

We were lucky to have my talented Mom come and spend the afternoon with us teaching us how to make our homemade Valentine cards.  Mom has been making intricate homemade cards for years and has created a huge fan base in our family’s social circle.  Getting one of her cards in the mail is like getting a little piece of art.  Always a perfectionist, you immediately appreciate the time, care, and creativity in that envelope.  I love giving my Mom’s cards to friends as they always bring a smile to people’s faces and they feel special to have received such a nice greeting.  For years now friends have been asking for a card workshop with my Mom – Valentine’s Day was the perfect occasion for her first workshop.

Our Cards

Our Cards

Mom In Her Element

Mom In Her Element

Our Crafting Party Table

Our Crafting Party Table

Want to make your own cards?  I would love to give you instructions on the cards we made but I have to admit, I had a little too much champagne and got a bit to caught up in making the cards that it totally slipped my mind to photograph the process.  Oops!!  Not to fear, here are some favorites I found on PINTEREST with instructions.

Be Mine!
DSC_0184E

Cute Cards from Better Home And Gardens.

100937163.jpg.rendition.largest

I love Owls so of course I love this card from Stampin’ Up.

e2753f18d89cccba73bd05abb3dd5f9a

Martha Stewart always delivers – these pop up cards are simple and fun.

3d-valentines-cards-md108083_vert

Of course you can’t have a party without some yummy treats.  It’s Valentine’s Day so chocolate and champagne is a must.  The party menu consisted of:

Valentine Treats

Valentine Treats

Savory Crepes, Cheesecake Hearts, Peanut Butter Hersey Kiss Cookie Cupcakes

Savory Crepes, Cheesecake Hearts, Peanut Butter Hersey Kiss Cookie Cupcakes

Savory Crepe Sandwiches.  I wanted something to compliment the sweets I had planned and crepes seemed like the perfect idea.  Wanting to keep it easy, I found pre-made crepes in the produce section (I usually find them near the strawberries).  I had two filling combinations for my crepe sandwiches.  The first was sliced turkey, goat cheese and raspberry jam.  The second was ham, brie and peach jam.  A little sweet with the savory!  Once the crepes were constructed, I heated them in the oven to help take the chill off and melt the cheese.  Looking for other crepe sandwich ideas?  Check out these ideas from my Mmm…Nom, Nom, Nom post.

Mini-heart cheesecakes – inspired by this PINTEREST post from Hungry Happenings.

how to make rainbow conversation heart cheesecakes, cakes, pastel colors, edible crafts, Valentine's Day recipes

Mini Peanut Butter Kiss Cupcakes.  A spin on my favorite holiday cookies, I put pre-made peanut butter cookie dough I had purchased at the grocery store in mini cupcake pans lined with cute Valentine’s Day cupcake liners.  I baked them at 350 degrees for approximately 15 minutes.  Once they were done, I removed them from the oven and placed a dark chocolate Hershey Kiss on each of the hot cupcakes and let them cool.  Very easy and cute.

Chocolate Fondue

Chocolate Fondue

Chocolate Fondue.  We dipped Strawberries, Apples, Bananas, Potato Chips, Rice Crispy Bars and Marshmallows, added sprinkles and nuts for garnish.

Raspberry Champagne Cocktails.  Pink, sparkly champagne, the perfect treat to help get the creative crafting juices flowing!  To make this cocktail you will need:

In a glass put 1 Tbsp Raspberry Puree, pour 5 oz Moscato wine over the puree and then top with 1 oz Champagne.  Serve!  To make it more fun, I found these great lips and mustache drink stirrers which I added to each drink.  They were a huge hit and made picture-taking even more fun.

Cocktail Photo Op

Cocktail Photo Op

Once we were done making our cards and eating our yummy treats, each of the ladies signed one of their cards which we then brought to a local nursing home. A little message of love for those who are often forgotten.

XOXOXO

XOXOXO

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

