Small Business Saturday Finds – Hostess Gifts To Delight

I mentioned yesterday in the Boozy Advent Calendar post my holiday shopping tradition has become supporting Small Business Saturday as opposed to Black Friday.  I love spending the day with my Mom finding cute little shops and supporting local business owners.  I find it much more personal and a tradition I really enjoy.

samll business

This year I wasn’t with my Mom but I was lucky enough to spend Saturday with my friend Pendery, her Mom and sister Caroline.  Pendery’s Mom, Sidonie, was a fantastic hostess bringing us to some amazing little shops she has discovered around her town of Marion, MA.  She also introduced me to Four Corners in Tiverton, RI – an adorable area about 30 minutes outside of Newport, RI.  My dog Sammy even came along for the ride.
Sammy

Our first stop was Dean Ross Home in Marion.  We were looking for a new collar for Sammy who didn’t get just one collar, he got two (I’ll be sharing those with you in a later post).  I loved exploring this recently opened store.  It is a sophisticated, stylish and fun little shop where I quickly compiled a nice pile of small gifts at the register.  One of my favorites were these wine tags from Knock Knock Gifts.  These are perfect to have on hand to dress up and personalize a bottle of wine for hostess gifts during the holidays.

I also got this roll of 50 linen cocktail napkins from MyDrap.  These festive napkins are a great gift for your friend that loves to host parties.  An eco-friendly option that adds a bit of sophistication to any gathering (they also come in a variety of plain colors).  The best part is they can be washed and reused for future parties.

Our next stop was Four Corners in Tiverton, RI.  We visited this adorable cheese shop Milk & Honey Bazaar.  I could have spent my whole paycheck on the amazing cheeses  – hello Truffle Cheese.  But I stayed focused and got a fabulous Strawberry Lemon Zest Jam from Grace and I that I used to make strawberry butter to go along with the popovers I planned to make for brunch the next day.  This would make a great hostess gift to bring along to a holiday brunch.

Our last stop was The Cottage at Four Corners.  Talk about adorable – I wanted to move into their second floor.  They had an awesome array of home furnishings, tableware and gifts.  Now I know why they have been written up in both Architectural Digest and Boston Magazine.  My take home was a couple of little gifts for myself that I couldn’t resist.

First was this adorable felt bird ornament – $10 bucks to the person who can tell me what type of bird this is as I can’t seem to identify it for the life of me.  I even asked our office’s resident bird expert.

pheasant

I collect holiday ornaments from my travels and special moments in my life, I knew this little guy would be a great addition to my collection.  I think it would also be an adorable gift to bring to a tree trimming party.

Lastly I picked up this book of Dog Stories.  How could I leave this face behind.  It’s perfect on my coffee table and I plan to pick up a few more copies for the other dog lovers in my life.

Don’t have a dog fan in your life?  Everyman’s Pocket Classics by Diana Secker Tesdell has a variety of other stories for your loved one’s interests including Cat Stories, New York Stories, Stories of the Sea, Bedtime Stories, Love Stories and of course, Christmas Stories.

christmas stories

Hope you feel inspired by the little treasures I found this past weekend.  Check back tomorrow to see what else I come up with.  It is one of my favorite gift projects I work on every year.

Leave a Reply

