New Year’s Make Ahead Breakfast

Happy New Year’s Eve!

I don’t know about you but I am planning a pretty low-key evening tonight.  I debated the house parties and fancy night out but decided a party on my sofa was the best way for me to celebrate this year.  All nice and cozy under my heated blanket with a glass of wine, a good book or movie and my favorite cuddle buddy.  Right now that sounds like heaven to me.  Lame, I know, but I am happy with my decision.

No matter what your plans are tonight, whether you are planning a big night out or a night in with your loved ones, nothing is better than a big New Year’s morning breakfast.  Here are some ideas for a make ahead breakfast.  That way you can make it tonight before you head out or hunker down and then pop it in the oven when you wake up in the morning.  It’s hangover proof when prepared the night before – perfect after a night full of libations.

I am a sucker for a good Eggs Bennie.  This Eggs Benedict Strata from Taste and Tell Blog looks right up my alley.

Eggs Benedict Strata

Eggs Benedict Strata

My go to make-ahead breakfast has always been a Crock Pot Breakfast similar to this one from Southern Lovely and Six Sister’s Stuff .  I never go wrong with cheesy hash browns, eggs, peppers and onions all baking over night in my handy-dandy crock pot.  I also like to mix it up and switch between ham and sausage for my meat in this casserole.

Crock Pot Breakfast Casserole

Crock Pot Breakfast Casserole

This looks like another great Overnight Breakfast Casserole from Spend With Pennies.  Definitely worth a try.
the-best-wifesaver-recipe

Looking for something to sooth your sweet tooth?  How about this gooey Maple Blueberry French Toast Casserole from Oh So Delicioso?

Maple Blueberry French Toast Casserole

Maple Blueberry French Toast Casserole

Is a hash more your style?  How about whipping up one of these hashes tonight than warming it up tomorrow and topping it with your favorite style eggs –  scrambled or fried.

I love the color and food combination of this Brussel Sprout, Sweet Potato and Chorizo Hash from Katie at the Kitchen Door.

Brussel Sprout, Sweet Potato and Chorizo

Brussel Sprout, Sweet Potato and Chorizo

Are you planning an amazing beef dinner tonight?  Try this Classic Hash from A Happy Health Nut using your leftover meat.  Don’t have leftovers?  Pick up a pre-cooked pot roast from your local grocery store.  Trader Joe’s has a great one in the prepared food section.

Whatever you decide, you will have a great kick off 2014.  A nice last hurrah before we all start our diets on Thursday.  Cheers!

Leave a comment